While surfing the Perry Farrell website, a freaky dialog box popped up. "Do you want to install and run http://www.perry-farrell.com/cdcheck2.cab..." What the hell is cdcheck2.cab, and why the hell do I want to install and run it. I googled it, and came up with very little information. I did find some information about a program out there called cdcheck, but I doubt that it is the same thing, seemed like a standalone. After all, the one that perry-farrel.com and Virgin Records wants to install on my computer is a stealthy active-x control. I downloaded cdcheck2.cab using GetRight to check it out. It contained two files, cdcheck2.ocx (active-x) and cdcheck2.inf (install information file). No too much help.
It could be one of two things.
- It is a program that monitors every cd that I ever put into my computer and compares my mp3 files against those discs, reporting back to powers that be the results. It was on an artist website, and put out by a record company... They will surely be disappointed. 99% of my mp3 are ripped from my own cds.
- It is a program that examines the cd and unlocks additional functionality on the website.
I'm inclined to believe that it is reason #2, being the good natured person that I am. If I am correct, it was very poorly implemented. The window pops up on the home page, with no warning or explanation.
If you want to see the window, click here.
This is what the status bar of my browser showed

I normally do most of my browsing with Opera, but for some reason I was using IE at that time. I will have to be more careful in the future.
If you want to experience it yourself, follow this link with IE.